Save Point

Money can buy everything except “love”, “friendship” and “exp points”.

Treasure Troves July 20, 2008

Filed under: Metagaming,The gaming industry — haounomiko @ 1:13 am

My copy of Final Fantasy III for the DS had been missing for an entire year, so last night I finally broke down and bought a new one. Guess what I found today.

At least I bought some other interesting things that I didn’t already own copies of– I have been on quite the game-acquiring spree lately. For some reason, a lot of PS2 titles and a relative lot of Gamecube titles have been showing up used lately; perhaps this is a big year for people to sell their consoles. The proliferation of good DS titles has contributed to my acquisition as well. Suddenly, there’s a lot that I want. It’s been a good year, but at the same time I’m not feeling any more positive about the gaming industry than I have since the Wii era began; good games are released not in a steady flood but in fits and starts. I might as well pick up what I want while I can, to tide me over through darker times.

Perhaps the most unusual find was actually purchased not by me but by a friend; I spotted a box set of Ar tonelico, which is going for around $70 on eBay, being sold for $40. For my part, I was amused by the font on the side of the box; it was reminiscent of old Atari games. Imagine a game whose plot revolves around music, with a soundtrack of Atari 2600 chiptunes and a harem of girls with 25-pixel faces.

 

2 Responses to “Treasure Troves”

  1. Karl Says:

    I think we have a mutual friend with a DS who might appreciate FFIII. Although I suppose it might be easier for me to lend him mine.

  2. haounomiko Says:

    If Brian or anyone else wants it, they can have it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

