Save Point

Money can buy everything except “love”, “friendship” and “exp points”.

MillionHeir: None of These Things Actually Belong Here September 28, 2008

I recently had Mystery Case Files: MillionHeir loaned to me. I’d never heard of this game before, and it seems to be American-made, so I was a little dubious about it; it turns out that it was just new, but also that it wasn’t as great as the lender claimed it was.

It’s the kind of game that can provide some mindless fun, but is hardly anything spectacular. The idea is that you are a detective hunting for clues about each suspect on a case. You find clues by going to various locations and finding a list of arbitrary objects in a background cluttered with many more arbitrary objects. The list seems to be randomly generated, and it is never explained what bearing it has on the mystery for you to find a fish, a tire axle, a fork, and three instances of the letter E. None of the characters have any noticeable personality, and it feels very much like playing a kids’ magazine game, but just a bit more difficult.

I wouldn’t particularly recommend it unless you’re bored and you can borrow someone else’s copy. I did have it recommended to me by a GameStop employee who heard that I liked Phoenix Wright. He introduced it with the phrase, “It’s not an attorney game, but…” As if “attorney game” were a whole genre now. I would say, though, that “crime game” is becoming a big genre, particularly on the DS. I think the stylus lends itself well to searching for clues and examining evidence, so perhaps that’s why we’re seeing such a proliferation of them. I do like the genre. I’ve ordered the first Touch Detective game on the internet, so we’ll see how that goes.

In other news: this article on SNES RPGs filled me with nostalgic happiness. I think the author’s rankings seem rather biased towards personal preferences, but overall he’s done a good job, in my opinion, of identifying an amazing lineup of games. Any RPG fan who missed out on that era should go down that list and play every game on it.

 

6 Responses to “MillionHeir: None of These Things Actually Belong Here”

  1. darine Says:

    “Most RPG veterans avoided [Mystic Quest].”
    That…is an unnecessarily harsh statement. 😦

  2. haounomiko Says:

    I wonder how they’re getting their statistic of “most”. At any rate, I liked it quite a bit myself, but I also realise that it had some mad serious flaws.

  3. Karl Says:

    I think most real RPG veterans at the time played Mystic Quest despite its flaws, because there were just so few RPGs. Although perhaps things were different for people with multiple systems.

    Also, the author conflates Final Fantasy Adventure with Final Fantasy Legend (despite later mentioning the SaGa series) and for some reason recommends the pretty awful Shadowrun game. Although perhaps I shouldn’t nitpick.

  4. haounomiko Says:

    You’re correct, come to think of it; what RPG veteran back then wouldn’t play Paladin’s Quest? It had an intriguing box and the title probably put a lot of people in mind of FF4 (both of which counted for a lot when you didn’t have reviews to give you a clue what it was like before you bought it), and come on, what else were you going to play?

    Perhaps more accurate would be the statement, “A lot of RPG veterans didn’t like Paladin’s Quest.”

    I never played Shadowrun, but perhaps this was for the best. Although evidently someone liked it.

  5. Karl Says:

    Er… I think you just switched Quests.

  6. haounomiko Says:

    …you’re right, I did. What is wrong with my head.

    Take out the statement about the box, though, and it’s still accurate. =D


Leave a Reply

