Save Point

Money can buy everything except “love”, “friendship” and “exp points”.

Failcat Causes Fail November 6, 2008

Filed under: Metagaming,Retro games — haounomiko @ 12:28 pm
Tags: , ,

The world keeps turning. I’ve started practicing for Super Mario World speed runs. After completing a few runs with abysmal times, I began to understand that I was wasting a lot of time being cautious. If I play recklessly I might screw up, but if I don’t then my time will be better; on the other hand, if I screw up even once then I’ll have to start over from the beginning.

So I have a lot of practice ahead of me. Last night I nearly completed a decent run, but I died near the end of Bowser’s castle because my cat decided to come over and headbutt my hands while I was playing. She didn’t mean any harm by it, of course, but it was rather frustrating. Back to the start screen for me…

Incidentally, The Backloggery is a site that may be of interest. Although ostensibly for cataloguing one’s game collection for one’s own benefit, I wonder if it will become the seed of a social networking site for gamers. I wouldn’t mind that.

 

5 Responses to “Failcat Causes Fail”

  1. Karl Says:

    Oh, distracting kitty headbutts.

    I’m far too lazy to actually set up a Backloggery account. Both in the sense that setting it up takes more effort than I’d like to expend, and that having an account would reveal the extent of my gamer laziness.

  2. haounomiko Says:

    And you could be distracted by kitty headbutts instead?

  3. Karl Says:

    Yes. Yes I could.

  4. Rarutos Says:

    You’re silly~

    I’m glad you found me on the backloggery though. 😀

  5. haounomiko Says:

    What’s gaming without a little silliness. 🙂


Leave a Reply

